Nebraska Corn Applauds Nebraska Congressional Leaders for Support of E15 Legislation

Chase County3LINCOLN, Neb.—The Nebraska Corn Growers Association and Nebraska Corn Board would like to thank Senator Deb Fischer for co-sponsoring and Representative Adrian Smith for introducing a bill to expand the volatility waiver for blends of American Ethanol up to 15 percent (E15), ultimately increasing consumers’ access to higher blends of American Ethanol year-round.

“We appreciate Senator Fischer and Representative Smith for their continued efforts to support America’s ethanol industry,” said Larry Mussack, farmer from Decatur, Nebraska and president of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association. “Their joint effort on the E15 bill not only supports the market for ethanol producers but also expands consumer choice at the pump.”

“From reducing our dependence on foreign oil, to expanding our use of renewable fuels, to improving the air we breathe, there are many benefits to expanding the volatility waiver for E15,” said Tim Scheer, farmer from St. Paul, Nebraska and chairman of the Nebraska Corn Board. “Passing this legislation will ensure that consumers have access to energy that is clean, renewable, and American-grown.”

Reid Vapor Pressure measures the evaporation rate of gasoline. Under current regulations, summertime volatility restrictions are in place from June 1 through September 15, but E10 receives a volatility waiver. This legislation would extend the same waiver to E15 blends. Similar legislation was introduced in the House of Representatives in April.

    For Your Information

    The RFS Works!