Nebraska Corn Board announces recently appointed board members and elected officers

2014-15 NCB ChairsLINCOLN, NEBRASKA — Two new board members were appointed to the Nebraska Corn Board at the start of the 2014-15 fiscal year. Brandon Hunnicutt, farmer from Giltner, Nebraska was appointed to District 3, and John Greer, farmer from Edgar, Nebraska was appointed to District 2. Alan Tiemann, farmer from Seward, Nebraska, was reelected by the board to serve in the At-Large position.

Brandon Hunnicutt is a fourth generation farmer who farms with his dad and brother. They raise corn, soybeans, popcorn, and seed corn. Hunnicutt graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with a degree in Agribusiness. He has been very involved with the Hamilton County Corn Growers and with the Nebraska Corn Growers Association as Past President. He served as Past President and Secretary of the Nebraska Agriculture Technologies Association, Board member of the Hamilton County Farm Bureau, and is a member of the Nebraska Soybean Association and the Agriculture Builders of Nebraska. On a national level, he is Past Chairman of the Grower Services Action Team for the National Corn Growers Association and currently sit on the Trade Policy and Biotech Action Team. He and his wife, Lisa, have seven children and live on the farmstead that has been in the family for over 100 years.

John Greer is the fourth generation to farm his family’s farm in northern Nuckolls County. Greer raises irrigated corn and soybeans and has a 90 head cow/calf operation. He graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1971 with a degree in Agricultural Education and a minor in Animal Science. He has formerly served on the Davenport Public School Board, South Central Cattlemen Board of Directors, Nebraska Cattlemen Board of Directors, and was also a 4-H leader. His current leadership roles include serving as the president of the South Central Public Power Board of Directors, Edgar Rural Fire Board, Davenport United Methodist Church Board, and Trail Captain for the National Pony Express Association. He, and his wife, Lynn, are the parents of two married daughters who are also involved in production agriculture.

With the addition of two new board members, the Nebraska Corn Board met on August 14 and elected officers, during their meeting in Lincoln.

Tim Scheer, District 5 director from St. Paul, Nebraska, was reelected to remain chairman of the board.

David Merrell, District 7 director from St. Edward, Nebraska, was elected to serve as vice-chairman of the board. He formerly served as the secretary/treasurer.

Dennis Gengenbach, District 6 director from Smithfield, Nebraska, was elected to serve as secretary/treasurer of the board.

Alan Tiemann, at-large director from Seward, Nebraska, will continue to serve as the past-chairman of the board.

“In an unmatched time in agriculture, we welcome two new board members,” said Kelly Brunkhorst, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board. “They, along with our officer team, will play a dynamic role in helping the Nebraska economy through its market development, research, promotion, education, and in supporting the mission and vision for Nebraska’s 23,000 corn producers that invest in the corn checkoff.”

Greer and Hunnicutt’s appointments concluded the service of Mark Jagels of Davenport, Nebraska (District 2) and Curt Friesen of Henderson, Nebraska (District 3).

“We absolutely want to thank Mark and Curt for their years of dedicated service on the Nebraska Corn Board,” added Brunkhorst. “Through their passion for leadership to the corn, livestock, export and ethanol industries, they have made unprecedented history in the impact that the corn checkoff has had in Nebraska and around the globe.”

Editor’s Note: Pictures of John Greer and Brandon Hunnicutt, as well as the 2014-15 officer team, can be found on the Nebraska Corn Board’s Flickr page, under the “2014-15 Board and Officers” set.


    For Your Information

    The RFS Works!