Nebraska Corn Board elects new officers

LINCOLN, NEB. — The Nebraska Corn Board met and elected officers on their first day of meetings in Lincoln, Neb., last week.

The Board met on Thursday, August 11 and Friday, August 12 at The Cornhusker Hotel to conduct regular board business and hold election of officers.

Alan Tiemann, at-large director from Seward, Neb., was elected to remain chairman of the board. This will be Tiemann’s third term to serve as board chairman.

Tim Scheer, District 5 director from St. Paul, Neb., was elected as vice chairman. Scheer previously served as the secretary/treasurer.

Curt Friesen, District 3 director from Henderson, Neb., was elected as secretary/treasurer. Friesen previously served as the market development committee chairman for the Corn Board.

“The Nebraska corn industry has played a dynamic role in helping the Nebraska economy through its market development, research, promotion and education,” said Don Hutchens, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board. “The role these farmer leaders have is critical in supporting the mission and vision for Nebraska’s 26,000 corn producers that pay the corn checkoff.”

The Nebraska Corn Board is a self-help program, funded and managed by Nebraska corn farmers. Producers invest in the program at a rate of ¼ of a cent per bushel of corn sold. Nebraska corn checkoff funds are invested in programs of market development, research and education.

    For Your Information

    The RFS Works!